Defender Jasjit Singh Kular, from India’s hockey hub Sansarpur, finds himself in the squad and will be expected to double-up as drag flicker in place of the veteran star Raghunath.

India have made a few changes in the squad that did duty in the Rio Olympics. While defender Birendra Lakra is making a comeback after injury, the national hockey selectors have dropped strikers Akashdeep Singh and Ramandeep Singh. The duo will be replaced by Talwinder Singh and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay.

The men’s Asian Champions Trophy hockey competition will see India, Korea, Japan, China and hosts Malaysia challenge defending champions Pakistan.

“The Asian Champions Trophy is an important tournament for us and going by the world rankings, India will go in as favourites to win the title,” said head coach Roelant Oltmans.

“The team has been upbeat since its return to the camp after the Olympic Games and are eager to start the season on a winning note,” Oltmans added.

Sreejesh is cautious after India’s Rio show.

“We may be the top ranked team in Asia right now but no team can be taken lightly. The defending champions (Pakistan) are known to spring a surprise and Korea too will be a team to watch out for as they have been playing good quality hockey lately,” said the veteran goalkeeper.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: P.R Sreejesh (captain), Akash Chikte

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Pardeep Mor, Jasjit Singh Kular, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar

Midfielders: Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Manpreet Singh (vice-captain), Sardar Singh, S.K. Uthappa, Devindar Walmiki

Forwards: Talwinder Singh, S.V Sunil, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Affan Yousuf



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here