Maryland and Virginia became the latest states on Monday to enact “stay-at-home” mandates amid the coronavirus outbreak. 

The two states sit on either side of Washington, D.C., which has closed nonessential businesses but has yet to issue such severe restrictions. 

Maryland and Virginia join states like New York, New Jersey, California and Washington — all among the hardest hit by the spread of COVID-19 — in locking down residents’ movements. The U.S. counts the most coronavirus cases of any country, according to data compiled by Johns Hopkins University, with more than 153,200 confirmed cases of the virus and at least 2,828 deaths. 

With more than half of U.S. states now ordering residents to stay at home, more restrictions could be down the line. Here’s what each state announced Monday: 

Virginia under stay-at-home order until June 10

During his gubernatorial campaign, Ralph Northam greets supporters at an election-night rally on Nov. 7, 2017, in Fairfax.

Win McNamee | Getty Images News | Getty Images

Virginia Gov. Ralph Northam issued a statewide stay-at-home order that is effective immediately. The order extends until June 10, making it one of the longest statewide mandates implemented so far.

The order follows a weekend during which beaches were packed, Northam said at a press briefing. He advised residents that they should now only leave their homes for groceries, medical treatment, work or exercise. 

“Don’t go to the store for just one thing,” Northam said. “Wait until you have a list. If you’re traveling from out of state, stay in quarantine for 14 days. Every age group needs to act responsibly and stay home.”

He said that people would not be thrown in jail for disobeying the order, but that police would be enforcing the new restrictions. 

Virginia has more than 1,000 coronavirus cases, almost half of which are people under 50, according to Northam. 

Maryland issues stay-at-home order

Maryland Governor Larry Hogan speaks at the New Hampshire Institute of Politics as he mulls a Presidential run on April 23, 2019 in Manchester, New Hampshire.

Scott Eisen | Getty Images

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan issued a stay-at-home order in response to the coronavirus pandemic and said those who violate it will face misdemeanor charges and could face up to a year in prison and a $5,000 fine. The policy is effective Monday at 8:00 pm. 

“We are no longer asking or suggesting that Marylanders stay home; we are directing them to do so,” Hogan said at a press conference. 

Residents in Maryland will still be able to leave their homes to obtain food, medicine and medical attention, according to Hogan. The state previously shuttered all nonessential businesses on March 23.

Maryland currently has 1,413 confirmed coronavirus cases, according to the state. 

While 27 states in total have issued stay-at-home directives and closed nonessential businesses, Maryland’s penalties for violating its order are among some of the strictest in the country.

Hawaii also categorized non-compliance with its stay-at-home policy as a misdemeanor and has the same penalties as Maryland, according to an order Gov. David Ige issued on March 23. In Washington State, violation of Gov. Jay Inslee’s ‘stay home, stay healthy’ order is a gross misdemeanor and could result in a $5,000 fine and up to 364 days in jail, according to the order, which was announced March 23. 

Alaska, which issued a stay-at-home order on Friday, has harsher penalties than Maryland, Hawaii and Washington. Under certain circumstances, an individual who violates the state’s stay-at-home order may be criminally prosecuted for reckless endangerment, which is considered a class A misdemeanor, according to the order issued by Alaska Gov. Mike Dunleavy. Violators could face a prison term of up to a year and may have to pay a fine of up to $25,000. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here