Under-18 Women's Select Team Leaning on Experience Heading into Series Against Canada

Josie St. Martin, a forward from Stillwater, Minnesota, finds herself representing the United States for the second time following an appearance at the U18 Women’s World Championship this past June. She was excited to be named to the U.S. U18 Women’s Select Team and travel to Canada for a three-game series that begins today and runs through August 20.

“It’s always fun to travel with teammates,” St. Martin said. “Just because of last summer, most of this stuff was where I lived, so I didn’t get to travel much. … But with this group, it’s always fun.”

St. Martin is one of seven players who recently played for the U.S. U18 Women’s National Team in June. Joining her are goaltender Annelies Bergmann (Detroit, Michigan), forward Cassie Hall (South Lyon, Michigan), defender Molly Jordan (Berlin, Connecticut), forward Maggie Scannell (Wynantskill, New York), forward Finley McCarthy (Whitefish, Montana) and fellow Minnesotan, forward Ava Lindsay (Wayzata, Minnesota).

The group won silver medals at the 2022 IIHF Under-18 Women’s World Championship, losing 3-2 to Canada in the gold-medal game in Madison, Wisconsin. St. Martin scored a pair of goals in those five games.

In net, Bergmann, who went 3-0-0-1 with a 1.51 goals-against average and .934 save percentage in the championship, will be joined by Minnetonka High School’s Layla Hemp (Chanhassen, Minn.). Danielle Strom (Dayton, Minnesota) was selected to the team but is unable to attend the series in Calgary.

“We have a really good group of girls,” St. Martin said. “We’re all super excited. And warm-ups are always super fun. We always get rowdy and excited during warm-ups, and I think we just have an awesome group.”

Other Minnesotans on the roster include defensemen Elly Klepinger (Corcoran, Minnesota), Cailin Mumm (Andover, Minnesota), and forwards Lindzi Avar (Chanhassen, Minnesota) and Grace Sadura (Chanhassen, Minnesota). Klepinger, Avar and Sadura are all from the Minnetonka High School program.

The rest of the defensive unit includes Kamdyn Davis (Beloit, Wisconsin), Rose Dwyer (Wynnewood, Pennsylvania), Gabby Kim (Los Angeles) and Rosie Klein (Chicago). The remaning forwards are Peyton Compton (Sanford, Florida), Lucia DiGirolamo (Woburn, Massachusetts), Annabella Fanale (Webster, New York), Alexandra Lalonde (Irvine, California), Samantha Taber (Tewksbury, Massachusetts) and Ava Thomas (Dowington, Pennsylvania).


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.