Roscommon 2-11 Mayo 1-7

Roscommon lifted the Connacht Under-20 football title after a drama-filled night at MacHale Park, Castlebar on Wednesday night.

The game turned on two big scores in the second-half, the first coming on 41 minutes when Adam McDermott rolled the ball into an empty Mayo net to give Rosocmmon a lead of 1-8 to 0-5.

The visitors had enjoyed a slender one point lead at the break, 0-5 to 0-4.

Moments later Mayo had the chance to cancel that Roscommon goal but Jack Mahon’s shot from the penalty spot was brilliantly saved by Roscommon goalkeeper, Ronan Connolly.

A second Roscommon goal was fired to the net by James Fitzpatrick but by then Rosocmmon already had both hands on the cup to record a deserving win.

Mayo nailed a late penalty from Connell Dempsey but Roscommon were very much the dominant force in the forward department throughout, Mayo’s poor first-half finishing coming back to haunt them with nine wides.

However, Roscommon’s more direct style and strength in tackling proved critical in the end, as did their ability to find the Mayo net.

Mayo: R Connolly; S Holmes (0-1), R Keane, D McHugh; C Flynn, R Baynes, A Cosgrove; C Dunleavy, J Carney (0-2); E Henry, C Reid C Dempsey (1-1, one penalty, free); U O’Reilly, F Irwin, J Mahon (0-1, free). Subs: P Heneghan (0-1) for O’0 Reilly (half-time), D Thornton for Reid (35 mins), E Duffy for McHugh (50), E McHale (0-1) for Cosgrove (55).

Roscommon: C Carroll; C Lohan, C Walsh, D Gaughan; P Gavin, T Crean, C Glennon; K Doyle, R Garvin; R Dolan, J Fitzpatrick (1-1), D Cregg (0-5, three frees); B O’Carroll (0-2), A McDermott (1-2), D Heneghan (0-1). Subs: R Falllon for Garvin (half-time), J Doory for Heneghan (40 mins), D Wynne for Crean (54), S Trindle for McDermott (55).

Referee: T Murphy (Galway).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here