MLB World Series: Teams with the Most World Series Titles

MLB World Series: Teams with the Most World Series Titles

Baseball is one of the most followed sports in the United States and has been so for many decades. Major League Baseball (MLB) is the oldest professional sports league in North America, and it’s divided into two conferences: the American and National Leagues.

The National League (NL) was established in 1876, while the American League (AL) was founded in 1901. These two conferences merged together to form Major League Baseball in 1903. In 116 years, the league has seen many franchises become World Series champions, most recently the Atlanta Braves who grabbed their fourth championship last year. It was also their first title since 1995.

Here’s a list of the top five MLB franchises with the most World Series titles.

San Francisco Giants

The Giants were originally based in New York and were known as the New York Gothams. In 1886, the team was renamed the New York Giants, and after moving to the Bay Area in 1958, it became the San Francisco Giants.

In 1905, the Giants made their first-ever World Series appearance in the second-ever World Series competition, and  went on to clinch the title that same year.

However, they have since gone on to make 20 total appearances at the World Series and have won eight titles, including three from 2010 to 2014. However, the team is yet to make a World Series appearance since their last win in 2014.

Boston Red Sox

The Boston Red Sox were established in 1901 as the Boston Americans until they changed their name seven years later. They made their first MLB World Series appearance at the inaugural tournament and were the first team to win the title after defeating the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-3.

The Boston Red Sox won the title in their next four appearances from 1912 to 1918. They made four more appearances but came up short until their win in 2004. The Red Sox have won the last four World Series they played in, with their most recent victory coming in 2018. They are yet to feature in a World Series since their last win.

Oakland Athletics

The Athletics have switched locations twice since their establishment in 1901. They started off as the Philadelphia Athletics before moving to Kansas in 1968. The franchise switched locations again and moved to Oakland in 1968.

In 1905, they made their first World Series appearance, losing 4-1 to the New York Giants. The Athletics captured their first title five years later in a matchup against the Cubs, which ended 4-1. They have since won eight more titles and have a 9-5 World Series winning record.

The Athletics won five titles while based in Philly and four in Oakland. They haven’t made it to the World Series since 1990 and are yet to win since 1989.

St. Louis Cardinals

The Cardinals were originally known as the Brown Stockings when it was founded in 1882. They officially adopted their current name in 1900, but have remained stationed in St. Louis since their establishment.

In 1926, the St. Louis Cardinals won their first World Series trip, defeating the New York Yankees in seven games. They featured in two more World Series but did not win again until 1931. Their last successful outing was in 2011.

However, since 2013 when they lost to the Red Sox after six games,  they haven’t made an appearance at the World Series. They have won 11 World Series and made 19 appearances overall.

New York Yankees

The Yankees comfortably sit at the top with 27 World Series wins; the most in MLB history. They are without a doubt one of the most successful franchises in all of sports.

Until their move to Empire State in 1903 when they adopted  the name ‘Highlanders’, the Yankees were originally known as the Baltimore Orioles, and eventually changed their name to the Yankees in 1913.

The Franchise’ first World Series appearance was in 1921,  which they lost to the Giants after eight games. They featured on the big stage the next year but lost again.

However, their losing streak was short-lived. The Yankees won the 1923 World Series against the Giants after three consecutive appearances and also won 15 more titles between 1930 and 1960. They hold the record for most appearances (40).

The Yankees won their last title in 2009, which was the last time they played in the World Series.

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.