Four goal Kildare show little mercy for Carlow

Kildare 4-19 Carlow 1-10

Glenn Ryan’s Kildare footballers showed little mercy for neighbours Carlow as they trounced the Barrowsiders by 18 points in Thursday night’s O’Byrne Cup clash at Cullen Park.

Full forward Daniel Flynn led the rout for the Lilywhites with some sparkling forward play and a contribution of 0-5.

The Lilywhites carried on from Saturday’s comfortable win over Westmeath, taking early control to lead 1-7 to 1-1 at the first water break. The goals came within a minute of each other. First Carlow’s Cormac Lomax swooped on a well flighted Darragh O’Brien free to score. Before Kildare stormed up the field for midfielder Kevin Flynn to raise the first of his two green flags.

By half time the visitors led 1-12 to 1-3 and there was no let up from Ryan’s men in the second half as they continued to dominate – they were fast, eager and, for the most part, accurate in building a huge lead.

Two second half goals from right half forward Davy O’Neill were supplemented by Kevin Flynn’s second goal. Carlow struggled to put up any sort of a realistic challenge to the Lilywhites, who advance to the O’Byrne semi-final.

KILDARE: T Kinsella; D Randles, M Joyce, J Sargent (0-1); D Hyland (0-1), J Murray, D Malone (0-1); K O’Callaghan (0-1), K Flynn (2-0); D O’Neill (2-0), P Cribben (0-1), P Tuohy; P Woodgate (0-6, 0-3 frees, 0-1 45), D Flynn (0-5, 0-1 free), E Lawless (0-2). Subs: M O’Grady for Malone (20 mins), S O’Sullivan for Cribben (h-t), B McLoughlin (0-1 free) for Tuohy (48 mins), D Ryan for Sargent (50 mins), L Power for O’Callaghan (52 mins), A Steed for Woodgate (54 mins), T Archbold for K Flynn (56 mins), T Harrington for Hyland (58 mins).

CARLOW: C Cunningham; L Roberts, K Bradley, D Curran; D O’Brien (0-1), C Doyle, S Buggy; S Bambrick, M Ware (0-2); L Brennan, H Hegarty, S Clarke; C Crowley (0-2, 0-1 free), D Foley (0-2 frees), C Lomax (1-0). Subs: N Hickey for Bambrick (20 mins), C Hulton (0-3) for Hegarty, P Hynes for Brennan (both h-t), D Ruth for Lomas (52 mins), P Deering for Doyle (56 mins), A Murphy for Crowley (59 mins), N Pender for Roberts (66 mins).

Referee: S Fagan (Wicklow).


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.