President Donald Trump’s conduct leading up to and during the deadly riots targeting the US Capitol has drawn widespread backlash among hundreds of lawmakers on both sides of the political aisle, as congressional leaders demand his Cabinet invoke the 25th Amendment and remove the president — or face a second impeachment process.

Calls to remove the president from office in the final days of his administration have grown since a violent mob of Trump supporters attacked Congress on Wednesday as it convened to certify the results of the 2020 elections.

The mob spurred a nearly six-hour delay in the vote certification, which went on to officially declare President-elect Joe Biden the next commander-in-chief. But Mr Trump’s speech in Washington just before the riots, in which he urged his supporters to march to the Capitol, and his video during the mob which was said to have added fuel to the fire, have both sparked demands for his immediate removal.

A growing chorus of Republican and Democratic lawmakers in the House of Representatives and US Senate have called for Mr Trump’s impeachment, with some going as far as calling for the 25th Amendment — the process in which a majority of the Cabinet votes to remove the president. Here is a list of the more than 230 lawmakers on Capitol Hill calling for Mr Trump’s impeachment (The Independent will continue to update this story as it develops):

House Democrats

House Republicans

  1. Rep. Adam Kinzinger of Illinois

Senate Democrats and Independents

  1. Sen. Chuck Schumer of New York
  2. Sen. Pat Murray of Washington
  3. Sen. Mazie Hirono of Hawaii
  4. Sen. Jeff Merkley of Oregon
  5. Sen. Sherrod Brown of Ohio
  6. Sen. Ron Wyden of Oregon
  7. Sen. Bob Casey of Pennsylvania
  8. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland
  9. Sen. Tim Kaine of Virginia
  10. Sen. Patrick Leahy of Vermont
  11. Sen. Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts
  12. Sen. Chris Murphy of Connecticut
  13. Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island
  14. Sen. Alex Padilla of California
  15. Sen. Mark Warner of Virginia
  16. Sen. Brian Schatz of Hawaii
  17. Sen. Ben Cardin of Maryland
  18. Sen. Tom Carper of Delaware
  19. Sen. Chris Coons of Delaware
  20. Sen. Maria Cantwell of Washington
  21. Sen. Ed Markey of Massachusetts
  22. Sen. Gary Peters of Michigan
  23. Sen. Dick Durbin of Illinois
  24. Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont
  25. Sen. Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut
  26. Sen. Tammy Duckworth of Illinois
  27. Sen. Michael Bennet of Colorado
  28. Sen. Debbie Stabenow of Michigan
  29. Sen. Tina Smith of Minnesota
  30. Sen. Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin
  31. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen of New Hampshire
  32. Sen. Maggie Hassan of New Hampshire
  33. Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey
  34. Sen. Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico
  35. Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand of New York
  36. Sen. Angus King of Maine
  37. Sen. Dianne Feinstein of California
  38. Sen. John Hickenlooper of Colorado

Senate Republicans

  1. Senator Ben Sasse has indicated he would be open to examining articles of impeachment against the president



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here